16 Mar History of Alliston Ontario
Alliston is a beautiful and charming settlement in Ontario, Canada. Alliston holds many other significant historical marks. Though it may not be vast in population, Alliston’s history is founded on the familial bond of three brothers.
How It Began
The majority of the land was purchased by William, John, and Dickson Fletcher. The three Fletcher brothers were dissatisfied with their life in England. They came to Toronto and later began scouting locations to build a mill. Finally, in 1853, a grist mill was built by the Fletchers near the Boyne River. Three years later, Orange Lodge was built, and the members decided to name the village Alliston. Though some may disagree on the origin of the name, it is widely believed that Alliston was James Banting’s birthplace in Yorkshire.
The Town Prospers
As time passed, the town grew. More and more of the Fletcher family began to thrive in Alliston. The family began to stimulate the town economy by starting more businesses in the area. A post office was built. George Fletcher became the town postmaster. George started the town newspaper, “The Alliston Star,” which later changed its name to “Alliston Herald.” George also became the reeve when the town was formally incorporated in 1874.
A year later, in 1875, the town was approached by the North Simcoe Railway. The railroad expressed interest in building tracks through Alliston and wanted Alliston to join the Toronto, Grey and Bruce Railway. Though this particular venture did not materialize, the railroad later proved to be a successful venture for the town of Alliston. The organization set up to look into the potential of the railway later turned into the Hamilton and North-Western Railway. The town of Alliston successfully raised its portion of the funds. With expansion and blooming business, Alliston was upgraded from the status of “village” to “town” in 1981.
The charming town has a lot to offer its residence. A small town feel and caring neighbors are everywhere. The town population of just over fifteen thousand people provides newcomers with a welcome feeling and gives residence a sense of closeness and community.
Potatoes are still a major commodity and provide stability for the town economy. About a third of the town works at the Honda manufacturing plants. The two plants were brought to Alliston in the 1980s and employ approximately 4,600 workers between the two facilities. The plants produce both vehicles and parts for the Americas.
Alliston is home to many thriving businesses. After the initial railroad ventures, a new line of the Canadian Pacific Railway reached Alliston in 1905. Alliston used to have its own electric company, Alliston Electric. Due to its success, Alliston Electric was merged into Ontario Hydro in May 24, 1918.
Alliston has a lot to offer its residents and visitors. There are two beautiful parks for people to enjoy. The Riverdale Park runs along the Boyne River and is to the north of the town. The PPG Park is to the south of the town of Alliston, near the local fire department. Most residential areas are to the north and south. However, in the mid-1990s, developments expanded to the northwest and southwest of the town.